doTERRA Series: TerraShield Insect Repellent

Standard
I’m not good with bugs.  I’m rarely able to kill them myself and, for fear that one will get away, I’ll stand and watch it while hollering for someone to come kill it for me.  My dad’s rule when I was growing up was that if a spider or bug was inside the house, then it could be killed, but if it was outside we had to leave it alone because that’s their home.  That’s a rule my husband and I have implemented for our household, but we have one exception: widows.  Black, brown, inside, outside…they all die.  Our area of California is also prone to many other spiders and insects (including roaches <shudder>), and most don’t like the heat.  This year we experienced our first triple-digit heat wave at the beginning of May, followed up by a second one a couple weeks later.  Since then, we’ve noticed an increase in spiders and insects IN the house.
So, I’ve had “bug spray perimeter” on our to-do board for two weeks now, but haven’t done it yet.  I should have because that might have prevented this morning’s ants-feasting-on-cat-food event.  That was finally enough motivation.  I used our eco-friendly commercial bug spray to take care of most of the indoor ants, then sprinkled diatomaceous earth along our deck and exterior wall where they were seemingly coming in from.  I also made up a quick indoor insect repellent consisting of TerraShield and water.  What is TerraShield?  It’s a blend of 15 essential oils in a base of fractionated coconut oil (FCO) that was developed specifically to repel insects.  Some of the oils included are Sandalwood, Wild Orange Peel, Rose, and Citronella.  Don’t be put off by the Citronella, this blend smells so good!  Light, citrus-y, and I swear I smell vanilla in there!
TerraShield can be diffused and/or applied topically:
  • Apply to skin “neat” (since it’s already in a base of FCO), or mix with water in a spray bottle for easier application.  One application generally lasts around 6 hours.  
  • Add 1 – 4 drops in a diffuser and place anywhere indoors or outdoors.  Great for BBQs and other outdoor events!
  • Add 5 – 10 drops to a 2 oz. glass spray bottle and fill the rest with water.  Shake before use, then spray along baseboards, cracks, window sills…anywhere insects may be able to get in.
0529141400~2After mixing up a bottle, I sprayed around doors and in window sills.   I don’t often think about bugs getting in through windows and screens, but I was met with an ugly spider when I opened my office window, so windows are on my radar now!
Interested in ordering some TerraShield?  Click here!
Leave a Reply

