Gluten-Free, Vegan Donuts

Standard
Being gluten, dairy and egg-free makes it difficult to find donuts (or any baked goods!) that I can actually eat.  Before eating free of those ingredients, donuts were one of those fun treats that we would indulge in once or twice a year.  If they weren’t so unhealthy, I would have had them way more often!  Several months back, I had such a craving for donuts that my husband went to the store and came back with a box of frozen gluten-free donuts, but they contained egg and tasted like they were frozen donuts.  So I was really excited when I came across this recipe from Fork and Beans.  I already had all the ingredients, so I tested it out this weekend.
0629141044a
I don’t have a donut pan so I used a mini muffin pan, making an indenture in the center of each dollop of batter so it would bake evenly (same concept as burger patties).  It was an easy batter to mix up, especially if you’re used to gluten-free recipes that call for multiple flours and starches.  The bake time was short at 8-9 minutes, but you do have to wait for them to cool before coating.  I opted to make three different coatings – chocolate, powdered sugar and cinnamon powdered sugar.  Surprisingly, the plain powdered sugar ended up being my favorite.  The chocolate was a bit too rich and was my least favorite, but that could be because I was expecting it to taste like Hostess donettes chocolate frosting, and melted chocolate chips just don’t taste as good.  The instructions call to dip the donuts in melted non-dairy butter before coating with powdered sugar.  In my opinion, that took away from the sweetness of the powdered sugar, so I would try melted coconut oil next time.  The donuts themselves were pretty good, but not as light and fluffy as I would have like them to be.  If I were to make them again, I would try using white instead of brown rice flour in an effort to lighten up the dough.
0629141044b0629141034
Overall, the donuts were pretty good.  Not something I’d make often because it’s still an unhealthy treat, but it is a good recipe to file away for the next time I have a donut craving.  And as you can see, they’re literally finger licking good!

0629141049

One thought on “Gluten-Free, Vegan Donuts

Leave a Reply

