I’m Doing The 21 Day Sugar Detox!

Standard

21DSD

I’m starting The 21 Day Sugar Detox program today.  I’ve always had a sweet tooth and sometimes it gets me into trouble with myself.  Ever feel like your body is just holding onto something?  Or that your past record of good self-control isn’t so stellar anymore?  Or that you work from home and you like to bake so you end up eating way more of whatever you baked because it’s staring at you all. day. long?  So those all apply for me and it’s time for a change.  I’m not a “detox” type of person, but after reading the book I see it as more of an elimination diet than anything else.  And I’m certainly not a stranger to those as someone who is gluten, dairy, egg and soy-free (gluten because of my thyroid, dairy & eggs because of food sensitivity testing, and soy because of thyroid, but more so because I have a negative opinion about it).  So, you see, after all that I can handle giving up sugar for 3 weeks, but I don’t intend for it to be a long term thing.  Moderation is what it’s all about…don’t go through life depriving yourself of treats.
My main goal is really just to see if I feel better, to reset the sweet tooth a bit, and if, in the process, I lose the 3 pounds I’ve gained from my recent baking sprees, then I would be okay with that too.  Most of the recipes look pretty good, but it’s basically a Paleo diet and I’ve never felt like that much meat is necessary in a diet, so we’ll see how it goes.  I already modified the first breakfast, so I’m sure I’ll be doing that throughout the whole process.  I’ll jump back on with a review of Week 1 once I’ve made my way through it and you’ll find out if the dreaded Days 3 & 4 get me like they do most people.  Anyone else out there ever done this one before?  Curious to hear thoughts and/or results!
Now, to go hide that last cookie that’s been eyeing me all day…
Leave a Reply

