21 Day Sugar Detox: Week 1 Recap

Standard
Here’s a rundown of what I experienced during Days 1-7 on Level 2 of The 21 Day Sugar Detox
Day 1:  Headache kicked in late afternoon.  Particularly enjoyed dinner of mustard glazed chicken and roasted golden beets.  Two thumbs up from hubby too, so that’s a recipe we’ll use again even after the detox.
Day 2:  Woke up super hungry and had a headache all day long.  Didn’t care for the breakfast veggie hash or shepherd’s pie recipes, so kind of a downer day for food.
Day 3:  Hungry and a little shaky first thing in the morning.  Headache was mild in the morning, but came back to previous days level in the afternoon.  We had dinner at a friend’s house and it was challenging to find something to eat.  I’m sure I inadvertently ate something on the “no” list.
Day 4:  Hungry and shaky again in the morning, plus the addition of a new symptom – muscle fatigue.  So-so food day…nothing really stood out as amazing or terrible.
Day 5:  Woke up hungry again and felt like I had the flu – shaky, winded, muscle fatigue.  By late morning, I was feeling better, but remained tired all day.  The olive and caper tapenade recipe to go with our salmon dinner was really good – another keeper.
Day 6:  Worst morning so far.  Felt awful – shaky, weak, exhausted.  I didn’t wake up crazy hungry though so that was a plus and eventually felt better by late afternoon.  Part of breakfast was half a grapefruit and I could tell my taste buds were starting to change because that half actually tasted much less tart than the other half I had eaten on Day 4.  We had dinner at my in-laws and the natural sweetness of roasted butternut squash was amazing after not having anything sweet for 6 days.
Day 7:  Felt less hungry than any previous day upon waking and flu-like symptoms had mostly subsided.  Felt pretty good throughout the day until late night when the consumption of almonds, almond milk, and almond meal caught up with me.  As far as food sensitivities go, they’re a “moderate” for me so I do best if I only eat or drink almond products once or twice a week.  I had been so focused on feeling sick over the course of the week, I didn’t realize just how much almond product I had consumed.  But lesson (re)learned on almonds!

0722141512

Level 2:  No sugar, sweeteners, dairy, gluten, grains, legumes, caffeine, alcohol.  The only fruit allowed is under-ripe bananas, grapefruit, and green apples.  Nuts are okay, except for peanuts and cashews.  Since the diet is primarily Paleo, eggs are allowed, but they are considered a “high” food sensitivity for me so I’m egg-free and had to modify a lot for breakfast meals.

0722141514

Slip-ups:  Only 1 so far – I ate a mint without thinking.  And I don’t care.  The 1g of sugar from that mint isn’t going to do any damage.  Plus, it was just about the best mint I’ve ever had – I’m pretty sure my taste buds registered it as 3 times as sweet as normal.
Thoughts:  I was surprised by my symptoms…I expected headaches, but not the flu-like symptoms even though the book warned about that.  I’ve gotten the hang of the author’s menu planning so I’m able to make up my own meal if a particular day calls for something I don’t like.  Day 7 was definitely the turning point for me.  The book says that most people start feeling better somewhere in Days 7-10.  One thing I found to be interesting timing is that the day I started feeling better was also the day the sweet cravings set in.  Hubby was really good about encouraging me when I’d start to complain or say I thought I might be dying.  He’s the best.  But he did eat sweets during the week…in front of me…so he’s also not the best.  I’ll forgive him though…eventually…like in 2 weeks when I can have sweets again.
Now on to Week 2!!
Leave a Reply

